Dr. Justine Ekou

Faculty Dean

Training Agricultural Professionals

The Faculty of Agriculture and Animal Sciences has a distinguished tradition of training Agricultural Professionals in Uganda. It was first established in 1957 as a Farm Institute with a mandate to train Agricultural Assistants at Certificate level. Soon after, in 1959, the Institute was upgraded and renamed Arapai Agricultural College with a broader mandate to train agricultural technicians at Certificate and Diploma levels. Training at Diploma level started in 1964. Since then, the College trained Agricultural technicians at Certificate and Diploma levels until 2010. In 2010, the College was subsumed following the transfer of the College to Busitema University and the Faculty was established.

Faculty offers relevant and practical oriented programmes uniquely designed to provide in-depth knowledge, appropriate skills and right attitudes. The Faculty is located in a rural setting and offers an excellent learning environment. With an enrolment of about 1800 registered students, the Faculty is arguably one of the biggest agricultural training schools in Uganda.


To be an institution of excellence in agricultural training for sustainable development


To produce competent agricultural technicians and practitioners capable of engaging in the delivery of quality services in agriculture and agro-industrial development

Academic Departments

The Faculty currently has three academic departments namely:

  1. Department of Animal Production and Management
  2. Department of Crop Production and Management
  3. Department of Agribusiness and Extension

Academic Programmes

The Faculty runs very vibrant and popular academic programmes aimed at meeting national, regional and international needs. There are currently six programmes at the Faculty namely:

  1. Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (4 years)
  2. Bachelor of Animal Production and Management (3 years)
  3. Bachelor of Agribusiness (3 years)
  4. Diploma in Animal Production and Management (2 years)
  5. Diploma in Crop Production and Management (2 years)
  6. Certificate in General Agriculture (2 years)